On July 15, 2011, Holy Trinity Monastery was added to the National Register of Historic Places. The ceremony for the addition to the Register was on December 3rd, 2011.
Located in Jordanville, New York, Holy Trinity Monastery is a male monastic community under the auspices of the Synod of Bishops of the Russian Orthodox Church Abroad. The Monastery was first established in 1930. The first house was built in 1935, but burned down. The beautiful and impressive building with golden cupolas was built in the 1940s.
Within the Monastery is Holy Trinity Orthodox Seminary, an institution of higher learning under the jurisdiction of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside Russia. The Seminary was founded in 1948.
The Seminary’s library, a new member of CLRC, has over 40,000 cataloged volumes and an additional 20,000 volumes that are not yet cataloged. About half of the collection is in Russian or Slavic, and much of that is comprised of rare or unique theological, historical, and philological items. The library is on the first floor of the Seminary building and open to the general public for research purposes.
In 2007, the Seminary’s archives and the Hoover Institution of War, Revolution, and Peace received a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. With this grant, the archives fully processed and microfilmed twenty-nine unique collections. See the complete list here.