The Empire State Center for the Book hosts the NYS Writer’s Hall of Fame and six members have been inducted for 2018.

Visit to view the announcement of the inductees.

The list of the 2018 inductees is as follows:
Ira Gershwin (1896-1983) – American lyricist. Created many of America’s best loved songs with his brother George Gershwin

E. L. Konigsburg (1930-2013) – Newbery Award Medalist of children’s books including From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Jose Marti (1853-1895) – Poet, essayist, journalist, and revolutionary philosopher

Russell Shorto (1959-) – Author, historian, and journalist known for his book The Island at the Center of the World about the origins of Dutch New York

Colson Whitehead (1969-) – Pulitzer and National Book Award winning novelist

Jacqueline Woodson (1963-) – Author of books for children and adults. Has served as the Young People’s Poet Laurate. Currently the National Ambassador of Young People’s Literature.

Russell Shorto, Colson Whitehead, and Jacqueline Woodson are expected to attend the induction on June 5, 2018, at the Princeton Club of New York.

For additional information on the Empire State Center for the Book and the Writers Hall of Fame, contact Rocco Staino at or 914-475-3857.

The Empire State Center for the Book is part of the Library of Congress Center for the Book and is housed at the New York Library Association.