Annual Conference

Join us for our 2021 Annual Conference!


Register via Zoom

Land Acknowledgement:

We would like to begin this conference by acknowledging that we all work and live on the traditional territories of Indigenous Peoples. Take a moment to explore the map, identify the land you are on, languages spoken, and treaties that affect the area.

We also acknowledge that we are using equipment and high-speed internet, not available in many Indigenous communities. These technologies leave carbon footprints, contributing to changing climates that disproportionately affect Indigenous people worldwide. To that end, we can support the 2021 National Tribal Broadband Strategy & the Center for Native Peoples and the Environment.

Additional suggested places to donate related to this conference include the American Indian College FundThe National Indian Education Association and the American Indian Library Association.

Resources: Adrienne Wong, Debbie Reese, Loriene Roy

2021 Virtual Conference Program

10 to 11 a.m.: Opening Remarks & Keynote Address from Crystal Chen & Nicollette Davis of We Here

Crystal Chen (she/her) is a Young Adult Librarian at The New York Public Library. She has an art and printmaking background and was a 2018 American Library Association (ALA) Emerging Leader. She is interested in the intersection of art, activism, and social justice and how libraries can create inclusive, responsive programming for youth communities. She joined We Here’s administrative team in 2020 and hopes to continue supporting BIPOC in libraries and beyond.

Nicollette Davis (she/her/hers) is an Adult Services and Circulation Librarian with the East Baton Rouge Parish Public Library System. Her  interests include community engagement, diverse community programming,  and inclusive practices for technological instruction in public  libraries. She joined We Here’s administrative team in early 2020 and she’s glad to be connected with other BIPOC librarians who share her vision for the future of librarianship.  


11:10 a.m. to 12 p.m.: Hooray for Libraries! Celebrating Our Positive Impact in Our Communities


Betsy will share concrete examples of how our caring, creative, flexible staff make our communities vibrant pre, during, and (almost) post- pandemic.

A Cazenovia native, Betsy Kennedy, has served the Cazenovia Public Library since 1979 becoming the director in 1984. She earned her undergraduate degree from SUNY Oswego in Elementary Education before completing a Master’s degree in Library Science from Syracuse University in 1998. In 2016, Betsy received the Central Library Resource Council’s Public Library Staff All-Star Award and under her leadership, the Library received the CNY Best Public Library award. The following year, she was recognized by M&T Bank’s Non-Profit Award for executive of the year. The library was named a finalist in Library Journal’s “Best Small Library in America” in 2018. Kennedy is passionate about lifelong learning and is an advocate of early literacy. She’s a steadfast advocate for building community partnerships, transforming the library into an inviting and open community space, as well as finding interesting opportunities for fostering learning and education.


12 to 1 p.m.: Lunch


1 to 1:50 p.m.: Meet the CNY Digital Inclusion Coalition


This presentation will give a history of the CNY Digital inclusion Coalition, along with a short Powerpoint about what the mission for the coalition is, and how we built collaborative relationships with other community based organizations. We will talk about the Digital Navigator program, which is at the core of our mission.

Annabeth Hayes is a graduate of the Syracuse University iSchool (’07) and is the Director of the Tully Free Library. She is co-founder and co-chair of the Central New York Digital Inclusion Coalition, which focuses on targeting the digital divide and improving the community’s access to affordable broadband Internet, affordable digital devices, and digital literacy skills.

Scott Kushner graduated from Rutgers University (New Brunswick, NJ College Ave campus) 1999. He moved to Central New York in 2000 and worked for Gaylord Bros. before becoming the director at the LaFayette Public Library. Scott, along with Annabeth Hayes, co-created and co-chairs the CNY Digital Inclusion Coalition, whose mission is to bridge the digital divide.


2 to 2:20 p.m.: Business Meeting & Library Awards


2:30 to 3:15 p.m.: CLRC New Initiatives Grant Recipient Lightning Talks

  • Baldwinsville Library VR Tour Kit
    • Julia Schult – Experiential Learning Librarian, Baldwinsville Public Library
  • Scalable Makerspace Fan Creation Station
    • Pauline Shostack – Onondaga Community College
  • School Story Walks
    • Joellyn Murry – Coordinator – Children’s & Family Services, Liverpool Public Library
  • Little Embedded Libraries
    • Jennifer McDonald – School Librarian, Grimshaw Elementary – LaFayette School District
  • Paint Your Masterpiece 
    • Anne Nassar – Library Director, Little Falls Public Library

Live captioning will be provided.

These sessions will be recorded and a recording will be shared with all registrants afterward.

2021 Virtual Poster Sessions

Emotional Labor in School Librarianship: An Exploratory Analysis

How Do Public Library Boards Work?: An Exploratory Study

How Libraries Help Make Your Data Management as Easy as Pie

Just a Day on the Computer Desk at the Library

Social Justice and Critical Librarianship Initiatives in Academic Libraries

The Importance of Digitization Within a Small Repository

The Intersectional Disability Community Profile

True Value: Calculating and Communicating the Value of Library Labor

Using Anonymous Pre-Instruction Surveys to Connect With (and Learn About) Your Students

We Can Do Better: Analysis of Social Justice in Library Professional Standards


**All participants will have the option to request certificates of attendance for each of the individual sessions.**

All CLRC events are open to CLRC members and members of the Empire State Library Network.

All Attendees are expected to follow CLRC’s Code of Conduct